Singapore International Festival of Arts

Paradise Interrupted

We'll be playing in the Singapore International Festival of Arts' Paradise Interrupted later this week. Directed and designed by revered visual artist Jennifer Wen Ma, composed and conducted by one of the world's leading composers Huang Ruo and performed by opera princess Qian Yi, witness an arresting new music theatre blending traditional classical Chinese idioms from the Ming Dynasty and contemporary music, set against a beautiful garden inspired by origami and calligraphy.

Paradise Interrupted
31 August, 2 & 3 September, 8pm
Drama Centre Theatre
Get your tickets

Image courtesy of Julia Lynn Photography
SCO 20th Anniversary Concert Season

Homecoming II / 回乡之旅II

We’ll be collaborating with the Singapore Chinese Orchestra (SCO) in Homecoming II / 回乡之旅II, in celebration of the SCO’s 20th anniversary season. Conducted by Maestro Tsung Yeh, we’ll be performing two newly commissioned pieces, Pastorale in Five Episodes《田间五段景》 (World Premiere) by Zhu Lin and Fantastic Landscape of Rainforest — Reflections on Points and Lines 《雨林奇景--点与线的随想》(World Premiere) by Gao Wei Jie.

Join us on Sat 4 June 2016, 7.30pm at the Esplanade Concert Hall. Tickets are priced at $70 / $60 / $45* / $30* on SISTIC.

*concessions available

More information

NAC Arts Education Programmes

Back To School!

With every new year, we offer specially crafted programmes under the National Arts Council-Arts Education Programme (NAC-AEP) to introduce students to the world of classical chamber music and to encourage classical music appreciation. Hooked on Classics is suitable for students of all levels and is open for booking in 2016.

More Information


T’ang Quartet is Coming Home

This Christmas, we hope to create one last enchanting memory of a momentous year together with you.

Adding to the sentimentality of the season is a smidgen of nostalgia mixed with the essence of the present and a hint of the future, as we return to the Victoria Concert Hall, our very first performance venue – and a place we will always call “home”. Special guests joining in the merriment are organist Margaret Chen and The Graduate Singers.

So, do come on by – enjoy the classical pieces that we once filled the Victoria Concert Hall with in the 1990s together with popular festive tunes infused with irrepressible warmth, as we celebrate both homecoming and Christmas.

Let’s make it merry, everyone!

Sat 19 Dec 2015, 7.30pm
Victoria Concert Hall

Tickets at S$35 from SISTIC


T’ang Quartet for Singapore International Festival of Arts 2015

An invisible dance of music, light and space is the premise of this exquisite musical odyssey curated by the T'ang Quartet. Each of the three concerts explores the influences and inspirations that have moulded the T'ang Quartet.

In Guts & Steel, the T'ang Quartet collaborates with pianist Melvyn Tan. They eschew the 20th-century technique of playing classical pieces with steel strings, modern instruments and techniques. Instead, they play the harpsichord, fortepiano and other period instruments to bring the music of Mozart and Boccherini to life.

Black Angels reveals musical visions of darkness and light – from the ecclesiastical passion of Hildegard von Bingen's Prayer, a 12th-century composition, to George Crumb’s intensely urgent Black Angels and John Tavener's mystical The Hidden Treasure.

Rounding up this epic series of concerts is Celestial Remnants. Here, the T’ang Quartet, together with an ensemble of young musicians, traverses generations to celebrate the universality of music.

Wednesday, 19 August 2015
8pm, Victoria Concert Hall
Tickets at $40, $60 & $75 from SISTIC
More Information

Saturday, 12 September 2015
8pm, SOTA Studio Theatre
Tickets at $50 from SISTIC
More Information

Saturday, 19 September 2015
8pm, SOTA Concert Hall
Tickets at $25, $35 & $50 from SISTIC
More Information

T’ang Quartet Goes Free & Easy

Music fills a void where words fall short. So we say, why speak at all? At least for a day…

… A day where we take a break from performing at concert venues around the world, to weave strains of glorious music amid Singapore’s magnificent greenery. There’s no better place to do this than at our newly-awarded UNESCO World Heritage site - the Singapore Botanic Gardens.

Ah, the gift of music… Soothe the savage breast, give flight to the imagination, or uplift the soul. Whatever music may mean to you, one thing’s for sure: Its essence is sweetened with kinship.

So, gather your family (the pet hamster has packed its picnic basket) and friends, from one to 100, be it age or group size, and carve out your special spot at our Free & Easy evening concert.

Friday, 7 August 2015
The Bandstand, Singapore Botanic Gardens
Free Admission for all (yes, pets and aliens too)
Picnic basket not provided

Free & Easy is part of the NParks SG50 Concert Series. The third in a series of six free public concerts, Singapore Botanic Gardens will celebrate Singapore’s Jubilee in a three-day carnival with performances by local artistes from 7 to 9 August. For more info on the celebrations, visit